Daman-Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli will now be a single union territory

Daman-Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Credit: Britannica

On Tuesday, the government introduced a special bill in the Lok Sabha to combine two union territories Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli to form a union territory.

There are currently nine union territories in the country. If this bill is passed, the number of union territories in the country will become eight.

According to this bill, these two are small states, by which the efficiency of government functioning can be increased. Also, better services can be given to citizens and expenses related to administration can also be cut.

There is also a plea of ​​the government that both the union territories are just 35 kilometers away from each other but both have different budgets and separate secretariats. Dadra and Nagar Haveli have only one district, while Daman and Diu have two districts.
Daman-Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Credit: Style at Life

Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Dadra Nagar Haveli is an area spread over 491 kilometers, which is Gujarat towards the north and Maharashtra towards the south.

Dadra Nagar Haveli has about 70 villages and its capital is Silvassa.

In 1779, in an attempt to deal with the increasing pressure of the Mughals on the one hand and fight the British on the other hand, the Marathas held hands with the Portuguese and gave them the right to collect taxes from Dadra Nagar Haveli.

Dadra Nagar Haveli was free from the rule of Portuguese rulers on August 2, 1954, and the people here ruled it here. Later in 1961 it was included in India as a union territory.

The 40 percent area here is surrounded by forests and mountains. According to the 2001 census, the population here is 2.20 lakh and tribals constitute 62.24 percent of it.

The Damanganga River flowing from the Sahyadri Mountains of Gujarat towards the Arabian Sea is the main source of irrigation here.
Daman-Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Credit: fameofcity.in

Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu are the names of two districts of this union territory. In the map, these two districts appear to be located on two ends of the sea. While Daman is just above Maharashtra in the southern part of Gujarat, Diu is adjoining the sea near Junagadh in the Gujarat mainland. Both are about 700 kilometers away from each other.
Daman-Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Credit: Booking.com

The capital of Daman and Diu is Daman.

After independence from Portuguese rule in 1961, Daman and Diu became the union territory of India including Goa.

In 1987, Goa was given the status of the entire state, after which Daman and Diu became a union territory.

Daman used to be part of the Mauryan Empire during the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka. Later it was under the rule of Satakarni and then Satavahanas.

Daman was under the rule of several Hindu kings and tribal kings for almost eight centuries. In 1465, the Sultan of Gujarat, Mahmud Shah Begada, conquered the fort of Daman and Parnera, after which this place came under Jagatshah.

Portugal took this place from the hands of the Sultan of Gujarat and finally in 1559, it occupied this area of ​​112 square kilometers.

At the same time, the existence of Diu is also associated with the Maurya Empire. Chandragupta Maurya occupied Saurashtra and entrusted the responsibility of this area to Pushgupta. Junagadh also had Diu under Pushgupta, who ruled from Girnar.

It is believed that Samprati, the grandson of Emperor Ashoka, built several Jain temples in Diu during the rule of Saurashtra.

Diu was sometimes under Indo-Greek kings, sometimes Hindu kings and sometimes under Muslim kings.

In 1535, Portuguese Governor Nuno de Cunha tried to win Diu from the Sultan of Gujarat, but he failed. During this time, Sultan Bahadur Shah of Gujarat was competing against the Mughals under the leadership of Humayun on the one hand and the Portuguese on the other. Bahadur Shah considered it unwise to join hands with the Portuguese and in 1535 allowed them to build a fort in Diu.

After winning over the Mughals, Bahadur Shah realized that he had given Diu under Portuguese occupation. The Purgatalis ruled from 1546 to 1961 in Diu.

Diu is an area spread over 40 square kilometers with a population of about 52 thousand.