Government of India: Released new map of India

Government of India
Credit: Times Of India

The Government of India has released a new map on Saturday after becoming the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. 

This map has been prepared by the Survey General of India. The Home Ministry has said in its statement that the Union Territory of Ladakh will have two districts - Kargil and Leh. After this, the remaining 26 districts will be in Jammu and Kashmir.

In the statement issued by the Government of India, it has been said that the boundary of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh has been fixed in the supervision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

According to this map, India now has 28 states and nine union territories.

The decision to nullify Articles 370 and 35-A of the Constitution was taken by majority in the Indian Parliament on August 5, 2019, after the recommendation of Parliament, the President approved the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act repealing these articles.
Government of India
Credit: Vajiram IAS
In 1947, there were 14 districts in Jammu and Kashmir - Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Raisi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Vazarat, Chillah and Tribal Territory.

In 2019, the government has reorganized Jammu and Kashmir and converted 14 districts into 28 districts.

The names of the new districts are Kupwara, Bandipur, Ballarbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Sopian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Doda, Kishtwar, Samba, Leh and Ladakh.

However, there has been a lot of reactions on social media regarding this new map.
Government of India
Dandu Kirti Reddy has written on Facebook, whether Pakistan and China have returned Azad Kashmir, Gilgit Baltistan and Aksai China to India, when it happened.

At the same time, senior TV journalist Dibang has tweeted, calling it a political map of India, on which many people are giving feedback.